Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign. Top Ten Tuesdays!

I’ve been reading Top Ten Tuesdays on other people’s blogs for awhile now, and thought it would be fun to do my own. This week’s theme is about the covers that I would most like to re-design. This is quite tricky for me. I had a wander over to my bookcase thinking I would easily pick out a few books that I would like to redesign, however, I must choose books with nice covers, as I could barely find any bad ones! I’ve done my best, most of these are books that I’ve enjoyed but feel that they could do with more exciting covers.

1. Nicholas Sparks novels. All of them. I really like Nicholas Sparks as an author, I think he writes about relationships and emotions really well. His writing has brought me to tears, and made me rejoice with happiness. However, I think his book covers let him down. They are predictable, and could just do with more spark ;).

IMG_1316

2. The Revenge of the Demon Headmaster, by Gillian Cross. I was obsessed with the demon headmaster books, and the tv series, but this cover is just horrible!

3. Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I don’t have my own copy of this as I got it from the library, but I remember the cover being a bit dull.

4. The Go-Between, by L.P. Hartley.

5. Strange Meeting, Susan Hill.
Slightly unremarkable picture on the front.

6. The Casual Vacancy, by J.K. Rowling. Considering the amount of resources that were probably put into this book design, I think it could have been much much better!

7. A Woman of No Importance, Oscar Wilde.
This is a brilliant play, but I just don’t see the relevance of the cover at all. Its quite garish.

8. Oliver Twist, by Charles Dickens. Definitely not the most exciting cover.

9/10. As the picture includes more than one book this can count as 9 and 10 (maybe I’m slightly cheating but this is hard!). Generally, I don’t like having books that are TV or movie tie-in editions.

IMG_1332

Which book would you like to redesign?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign. Top Ten Tuesdays!

Leave a Reply

